BTI Faculty

The BioTechnology Institute (BTI) includes faculty members from across the University, including the College of Biological Sciences (CBS), the College of Science and Engineering (CSE), the College of Forestry, Agriculture and Natural Resources (CFANS), and the Academic Health Centers (AHC)

Alptekin Aksan

Alptekin Aksan

Professor
Mechanical Engineering

aaksan@umn.edu

Biopreservation and biothermodynamics; molecular mobility; microelectromechanical systems.

read more
Mikael Elias

Mikael Elias

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

mhelias@umn.edu

read more
Mike Freeman

Mike Freeman

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

mffreema@umn.edu

read more
Ben Hackel

Ben Hackel

Associate Professor
Chemical Engineering & Materials Science

hackel@umn.edu

read more
Bo Hu

Bo Hu

Assistant Professor
Bioproducts, and
Biosystems Engineering

bhu@umn.edu

read more
Alex Khoruts

Alex Khoruts

Professor of Medicine
Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition

khoru001@umn.edu

read more
Tim LaPara

Tim LaPara

Associate Professor
Civil, Environmental & Geo-Engineering

lapar001@umn.edu

read more
Paige Novak

Paige Novak

Professor
Department of Civil, Environmental, & Geo-Engineering

novak010@umn.edu

read more
Michael Sadowsky

Michael Sadowsky

Professor
Department of Soil, Water, & Climate
Director, BioTechnology Institute

sadowsky@umn.edu

read more
Mike Smanski

Mike Smanski

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

smanski@umn.edu

read more