Alptekin Aksan

Alptekin Aksan

Professor
Mechanical Engineering

aaksan@umn.edu

Biostabilization; bioencapsulation; biotransport; biomechanics

read more
Brett Barney

Brett Barney

Associate Professor
Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering

bbarney@umn.edu

Biofuels; biofertilizers; biosynthetic pathways

read more
David Baumler

David Baumler

Assistant Professor
Food Science and Nutrition

dbaumler@umn.edu

Infectious disease and genomics of foodborne pathogens; beneficial microbial flora; microbiome

read more
Jannell Bazurto

Jannell Bazurto

Assistant Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

jbazurto@umn.edu

Regulatory mechanisms; bacterial physiology; metabolic stress; methylobacterium

read more
Sebastian Behrens

Sebastian Behrens

Associate Professor
Civil, Environmental, & Geo-Engineering

sbehrens@umn.edu

Microbial bioremediation; environmental contaminants; resource recovery

read more
Daniel Bond

Daniel Bond

Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

dbond@umn.edu

Physiology and functional genomics of metal-reducing bacteria; microbial interactions with electrodes

read more
Steven Bowden

Steven Bowden

Assistant Professor
Food Science and Nutrition

sbowden@umn.edu

Foodborne pathogens; microbial stress responses; bacterial genetics and virulence; functional genomics; bacteriophages

read more
Kyle Costa

Kyle Costa

Assistant Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

kcosta@umn.edu

Methanogen physiology; microbial metabolism; anaerobic microbiology

read more
Antony Dean

Antony Dean

Professor
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

deanx024@umn.edu

Molecular evolution; enzymology; isopropylmalate dehydrogenase (IDH)

read more
Mark Distefano

Mark Distefano

Professor
Chemistry

diste001@umn.edu

Protein prenylation; molecular recognition and catalysis in proteins; protein engineering; bioorganic chemistry

read more
Gary Dunny

Gary Dunny

Professor
Microbiology, Immunology & Cancer Biology

dunny001@umn.edu

Gram-positive bacteria; expression of genetic transfer functions; virulence regulation; regulatory mechanisms

read more
Mikael Elias

Mikael Elias

Associate Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

mhelias@umn.edu

Microbial enzymes and systems; bio-remediation; cellular phosphate uptake mechanism

read more
Kathryn Fixen

Kathryn Fixen

Assistant Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

kfixen@umn.edu

Redox regulation of metabolism; anoxygenic phototrophs; product formation

read more
Mike Freeman

Mike Freeman

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

mffreema@umn.edu

Natural product biosynthesis; microbial genetics; targeted metagenomics; radical-mediated chemistry

read more
Jeff Gralnick

Jeff Gralnick

Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

gralnick@umn.edu

Microbial physiology; synthetic biology; geomicrobiology; Shewanella; bioenergy; bioremediation; biocatalysis

read more
Ben Hackel

Ben Hackel

Associate Professor
Chemical Engineering & Materials Science

hackel@umn.edu

Protein engineering; molecular diagnostics; targeted therapy; oncology; infectious disease

read more
Trinity Hamilton

Trinity Hamilton

Associate Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

trinityh@umn.edu

Microbial photosynthesis; global biogeochemical cycles; microbial ecosystems, ecology, and evolution

read more
Will Harcombe

Will Harcombe

Associate Professor
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

harcombe@umn.edu

Cooperation and conflict; eco-evolutionary feedback; microbial communities; microbial interactions; systems biology

read more
Raymond Hozalski

Raymond Hozalski

Professor
Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering

hozal001@umn.edu

Bacterial biofilms; environmental engineering and human health; water distribution systems; biologically-active filters for water treatment; biofouling

read more
Bo Hu

Bo Hu

Associate Professor
Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering

bhu@umn.edu

Bioprocessing technologies; biofuels; biomass utilization; industrial fermentation; waste management and treatment

read more
Wei-Shou Hu

Wei-Shou Hu

Professor
Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

acre@cems.umn.edu

Cell culture technology; tissue engineering; metabolic engineering; quantitative modeling of biological systems

read more
Satoshi Ishii

Satoshi Ishii

Associate Professor
Soil, Water, and Climate

ishi0040@umn.edu

Applied microbiology and biotechnology; nitrogen pollution; genomics; metagenomics; meta transcriptomics; high-throughput sequencing; bioinformatics; bioreactors; mathematical modeling

read more
Romas Kazlauskas

Romas Kazlauskas

Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

rjk@umn.edu

Green (sustainable) chemistry; enzyme modeling; enzyme design; enzyme engineering

read more
George Karypis

George Karypis

Professor
Computer Science & Engineering

karypis@umn.edu

Data mining; recommender systems; learning analytics; high-performance computing; chemical informatics; problems in health informatics, information retrieval, bioinformatics, and scientific computing

read more
Arkady Khodursky

Arkady Khodursky

Associate Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

khodu001@umn.edu

Functional genomics; gene expression patterns; microarray applications; signal processing; adaptation in antibiotic-resistant bacteria; genomic landscape

read more
Alex Khoruts

Alex Khoruts

Professor of Medicine
Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition

khoru001@umn.edu

Microbiota-host interactions; microbiota therapeutics; disease pathogenesis; C. difficile; energy metabolism

read more
Linda Kinkel

Linda Kinkel

Professor
Department of Plant Pathology

kinkel@umn.edu

Epidemiology and ecology of plant diseases; ecology of plant-associated micro-organisms; antibiotic-producing bacteria

read more
Dan Knights

Dan Knights

Associate Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

dknights@umn.edu

Model host-microbiome interactions; microbial community patterns that predict and diagnose human diseases; computational microbiology

read more
Tim LaPara

Tim LaPara

Professor
Civil, Environmental & Geo-Engineering

lapar001@umn.edu

Biological wastewater treatment; wastewater and environmental microbiology; microbial ecology and evolution; antibiotic resistance

read more
Gary Muehlbauer

Gary Muehlbauer

Professor
Agronomy and Plant Genetics

muehl003@umn.edu

Wheat and barley molecular genetics; Fusarium head blight (FHB); genomics resources in breeding programs; germplasm enhancement; genetic characterization

read more
Chad Myers

Chad Myers

Professor
Computer Science & Engineering

chadm@umn.edu

Computational methods to categorize, visualize, and model biological data and systems; machine learning; biological networks

read more
Tom Niehaus

Tom Niehaus

Assistant Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

tniehaus@umn.edu

Metabolic biochemistry; biochemical and genetic techniques; recombinant enzyme assay; metabolomics

read more
Paige Novak

Paige Novak

Professor
Department of Civil, Environmental, & Geo-Engineering

novak010@umn.edu

Biological transformation of hazardous substances; biodegradation; PCB dechlorinators; dehalorespirers; estrogenic compounds; micropollutants; reactive membrane systems

read more
Michael Sadowsky

Michael Sadowsky

Professor
Department of Soil, Water, & Climate
Director, BioTechnology Institute

sadowsky@umn.edu

Molecular plant-microbe interactions; nitrogen-fixing symbiotic systems; biodegradation; bioremediation; metagenomics of soil, water, and intestinal environments

read more
Christine Salomon

Christine Salomon

Associate Professor
Center for Drug Design

csalomon@umn.edu

Biological control of plant disease; antibiotic resistance; communication networks among bacterial populations

read more
Cara Santelli

Cara Santelli

Associate Professor
Earth & Environmental Sciences

santelli@umn.edu

Impact of microbial activity on geological and environmental processes; nutrient biogeochemical cycling; environmental remediation; influence of anthropogenic activity on biogeochemical processes

read more
Casim Sarkar

Casim Sarkar

Associate Professor
Biomedical Engineering

csarkar@umn.edu

Biomolecular engineering; synthetic biology; systems biology; cellular decision making; molecular and cellular therapeutics

read more
Jonathan Schilling

Jonathan Schilling

Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

schillin@umn.edu

Microbial decomposers; biotechnological potential; ecological dynamics; carbon cycling; Earth Systems Models

read more
Claudia Schmidt-Dannert

Claudia Schmidt-Dannert

Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

schmi232@umn.edu

Biosynthetic machinery; sustainable synthesis; multi-enzyme biocatalysis; genetically programmable, self-organizing protein-based functional materials

read more
Burckhard Seelig

Burckhard Seelig

Associate Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

seelig@umn.edu

Darwinian molecular evolution; novel protein generation; synthetic biology; origin and evolution of functional proteins; history of the genetic code

read more
Mike Smanski

Mike Smanski

Associate Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

smanski@umn.edu

Natural product discovery; genome mining; genetic systems engineering

read more
Friedrich Srienc

Friedrich Srienc

Professor
Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

srienc@umn.edu

Gene expression; protein synthesis; metabolic networks; growth physiology of cells; flow cytometry; bioreactors

read more
Christopher Staley

Christopher Staley

Assistant Professor
Department of Surgery

cmstaley@umn.edu

Microbiota disruptions; microbial ecology; next-generation sequencing; microbiota-based therapies

read more
Brandy Toner

Brandy Toner

Professor
Soil, Water, and Climate

toner@umn.edu

Biogeochemistry of metals; partitioning of metals among gas, aqueous, solid, and biological phases in the environment; metals in natural systems

read more
Michael Travisano

Michael Travisano

Professor
Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior

travisan@umn.edu

Ecological and evolutionary dynamics; evolutionary genetics; microbial ecology and evolution; yeast speciation

read more
Larry Wackett

Larry Wackett

Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

wacke003@umn.edu

Biodegradation; bioremediation; biosynthesis of natural products; enzymology; applications of enzymes in industrial processes

read more
Ping Wang

Ping Wang

Professor
Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering

ping@umn.edu

Enzyme engineering and nano biocatalysis; bioprocessing and bioreactors; biosensors; biodegradation; biofuels and bioenergy; biomass-based chemicals and materials; smart coatings and nano functional materials; carbon capture and conversion

read more
Carrie M. Wilmot

Carrie M. Wilmot

Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

wilmo004@umn.edu

Structural enzymology; natural products; metalloenzymes; macromolecular X-ray crystallography; spectroscopic techniques; kinetics; mass spectrometry

read more