Microbial Engineering Faculty

Alptekin Aksan

Alptekin Aksan

Professor
Mechanical Engineering

aaksan@umn.edu

Biostabilization; bioencapsulation; biotransport; biomechanics

Brett Barney

Brett Barney

Associate Professor
Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering

bbarney@umn.edu

Biofuels; biofertilizers; biosynthetic pathways

Jannell Bazurto

Jannell Bazurto

Assistant Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

jbazurto@umn.edu

Regulatory mechanisms; bacterial physiology; metabolic stress; methylobacterium

Sebastian Behrens

Sebastian Behrens

Associate Professor
Civil, Environmental, & Geo-Engineering

sbehrens@umn.edu

Microbial bioremediation; environmental contaminants; resource recovery

Daniel Bond

Daniel Bond

Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

dbond@umn.edu

Physiology and functional genomics of metal-reducing bacteria; microbial interactions with electrodes

Kyle Costa

Kyle Costa

Assistant Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

kcosta@umn.edu

Methanogen physiology; microbial metabolism; anaerobic microbiology

Antony Dean

Antony Dean

Professor
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

deanx024@umn.edu

Molecular evolution; enzymology; isopropylmalate dehydrogenase (IDH)

Mark Distefano

Mark Distefano

Professor
Chemistry

diste001@umn.edu

Protein prenylation; molecular recognition and catalysis in proteins; protein engineering; bioorganic chemistry

Mikael Elias

Mikael Elias

Associate Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

mhelias@umn.edu

Microbial enzymes and systems; bio-remediation; cellular phosphate uptake mechanism

Kathryn Fixen

Kathryn Fixen

Assistant Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

kfixen@umn.edu

Redox regulation of metabolism; anoxygenic phototrophs; product formation

Mike Freeman

Mike Freeman

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

mffreema@umn.edu

Natural product biosynthesis; microbial genetics; targeted metagenomics; radical-mediated chemistry

Jeff Gralnick

Jeff Gralnick

Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

gralnick@umn.edu

Microbial physiology; synthetic biology; geomicrobiology; Shewanella; bioenergy; bioremediation; biocatalysis

Ben Hackel

Ben Hackel

Associate Professor
Chemical Engineering & Materials Science

hackel@umn.edu

Protein engineering; molecular diagnostics; targeted therapy; oncology; infectious disease

Trinity Hamilton

Trinity Hamilton

Associate Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

trinityh@umn.edu

Microbial photosynthesis; global biogeochemical cycles; microbial ecosystems, ecology, and evolution

Will Harcombe

Will Harcombe

Associate Professor
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

harcombe@umn.edu

Cooperation and conflict; eco-evolutionary feedback; microbial communities; microbial interactions; systems biology

Bo Hu

Bo Hu

Professor
Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering

bhu@umn.edu

Bioprocessing technologies; biofuels; biomass utilization; industrial fermentation; waste management and treatment

Wei-Shou Hu

Wei-Shou Hu

Professor
Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

acre@cems.umn.edu

Cell culture technology; tissue engineering; metabolic engineering; quantitative modeling of biological systems

Satoshi Ishii

Satoshi Ishii

Associate Professor
Soil, Water, and Climate

ishi0040@umn.edu

Applied microbiology and biotechnology; nitrogen pollution; genomics; metagenomics; meta transcriptomics; high-throughput sequencing; bioinformatics; bioreactors; mathematical modeling

Romas Kazlauskas

Romas Kazlauskas

Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

rjk@umn.edu

Green (sustainable) chemistry; enzyme modeling; enzyme design; enzyme engineering

Arkady Khodursky

Arkady Khodursky

Associate Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

khodu001@umn.edu

Functional genomics; gene expression patterns; microarray applications; signal processing; adaptation in antibiotic-resistant bacteria; genomic landscape

Dan Knights

Dan Knights

Associate Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

dknights@umn.edu

Model host-microbiome interactions; microbial community patterns that predict and diagnose human diseases; computational microbiology

Tim LaPara

Tim LaPara

Professor
Civil, Environmental & Geo-Engineering

lapar001@umn.edu

Biological wastewater treatment; wastewater and environmental microbiology; microbial ecology and evolution; antibiotic resistance

Paige Novak

Paige Novak

Professor
Department of Civil, Environmental, & Geo-Engineering

novak010@umn.edu

Biological transformation of hazardous substances; biodegradation; PCB dechlorinators; dehalorespirers; estrogenic compounds; micropollutants; reactive membrane systems

Michael Sadowsky

Michael Sadowsky

Professor
Department of Soil, Water, & Climate
Director, BioTechnology Institute

sadowsky@umn.edu

Molecular plant-microbe interactions; nitrogen-fixing symbiotic systems; biodegradation; bioremediation; metagenomics of soil, water, and intestinal environments

Christine Salomon

Christine Salomon

Associate Professor
Center for Drug Design

csalomon@umn.edu

Biological control of plant disease; antibiotic resistance; communication networks among bacterial populations

Cara Santelli

Cara Santelli

Associate Professor
Earth & Environmental Sciences

santelli@umn.edu

Impact of microbial activity on geological and environmental processes; nutrient biogeochemical cycling; environmental remediation; influence of anthropogenic activity on biogeochemical processes

Claudia Schmidt-Dannert

Claudia Schmidt-Dannert

Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

schmi232@umn.edu

Biosynthetic machinery; sustainable synthesis; multi-enzyme biocatalysis; genetically programmable, self-organizing protein-based functional materials

Janet Schottel

Janet Schottel

Professor

Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

schot002@umn.edu
https://cbs.umn.edu/contacts/janet-l-schottel

mRNA stability, Plant-pathogen interactions, Gene expression

Burckhard Seelig

Burckhard Seelig

Associate Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

seelig@umn.edu

Darwinian molecular evolution; novel protein generation; synthetic biology; origin and evolution of functional proteins; history of the genetic code

W. Thomas Shier

W. Thomas Shier

Professor
Medicinal Chemistry

shier001@umn.edu
612-624-9465

Mike Smanski

Mike Smanski

Associate Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

smanski@umn.edu

Natural product discovery; genome mining; genetic systems engineering

Friedrich Srienc

Friedrich Srienc

Professor
Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

srienc@umn.edu

Gene expression; protein synthesis; metabolic networks; growth physiology of cells; flow cytometry; bioreactors

Michael Travisano

Michael Travisano

Professor
Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior

travisan@umn.edu

Ecological and evolutionary dynamics; evolutionary genetics; microbial ecology and evolution; yeast speciation

Larry Wackett

Larry Wackett

Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

wacke003@umn.edu

Biodegradation; bioremediation; biosynthesis of natural products; enzymology; applications of enzymes in industrial processes

Ping Wang

Ping Wang

Professor
Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering

ping@umn.edu

Enzyme engineering and nano biocatalysis; bioprocessing and bioreactors; biosensors; biodegradation; biofuels and bioenergy; biomass-based chemicals and materials; smart coatings and nano functional materials; carbon capture and conversion

Carrie M. Wilmot

Carrie M. Wilmot

Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

wilmo004@umn.edu

Structural enzymology; natural products; metalloenzymes; macromolecular X-ray crystallography; spectroscopic techniques; kinetics; mass spectrometry