Microbial Engineering Faculty

Alptekin Aksan

Alptekin Aksan

Professor
Mechanical Engineering

aaksan@umn.edu

Biopreservation and biothermodynamics; molecular mobility; microelectromechanical systems.

Brett Barney

Brett Barney

Professor
Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering

bbarney@umn.edu

Jannell Bazurto

Jannell Bazurto

Assistant Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

jbazurto@umn.edu

Sebastian Behrens

Sebastian Behrens

Associate Professor
Civil, Environmental, & Geo-Engineering

sbehrens@umn.edu

Daniel Bond

Daniel Bond

Associate Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

dbond@umn.edu

Kyle Costa

Kyle Costa

Assistant Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

kcosta@umn.edu

Anthony Dean

Anthony Dean

Professor
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

deanx024@umn.edu

Mikael Elias

Mikael Elias

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

mhelias@umn.edu

Kathryn Fixen

Kathryn Fixen

Assistant Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

kfixen@umn.edu

Mike Freeman

Mike Freeman

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

mffreema@umn.edu

Jeff Gralnick

Jeff Gralnick

Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

gralnick@umn.edu

Ben Hackel

Ben Hackel

Associate Professor
Chemical Engineering & Materials Science

hackel@umn.edu

Trinity Hamilton

Trinity Hamilton

Assistant Professor
Plant and Microbial Biology

trinityh@umn.edu

Will Harcombe

Will Harcombe

Assistant Professor
Ecology, Evolution & Behavior

harcombe@umn.edu

Bo Hu

Bo Hu

Assistant Professor
Bioproducts, and
Biosystems Engineering

bhu@umn.edu

Wei-Shou Hu

Wei-Shou Hu

Professor
Chemical Engineering
and Materials Science

acre@cems.umn.edu

Satoshi Ishii

Satoshi Ishii

Associate Professor
Soil, Water,
and Climate

ishi0040@umn.edu

Romas Kazlauskas

Romas Kazlauskas

Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

rjk@umn.edu

Arkady Khodursky

Arkady Khodursky

Associate Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, & Biophysics

khodu001@umn.edu

Dan Knights

Dan Knights

Associate Professor
Computer Science and Engineering

dknights@umn.edu

Tim LaPara

Tim LaPara

Associate Professor
Civil, Environmental & Geo-Engineering

lapar001@umn.edu

Paige Novak

Paige Novak

Professor
Department of Civil, Environmental, & Geo-Engineering

novak010@umn.edu

Michael Sadowsky

Michael Sadowsky

Professor
Department of Soil, Water, & Climate
Director, BioTechnology Institute

sadowsky@umn.edu

Cara Santelli

Cara Santelli

Associate Professor
Earth & Environmental Sciences

santelli@umn.edu

Janet Schottel

Janet Schottel

Professor

Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

schot002@umn.edu
https://cbs.umn.edu/contacts/janet-l-schottel

mRNA stability, Plant-pathogen interactions, Gene expression

Burckhard Seelig

Burckhard Seelig

Associate Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

seelig@umn.edu

W. Thomas Shier

W. Thomas Shier

Professor
Medicinal Chemistry

shier001@umn.edu
612-624-9465

Mike Smanski

Mike Smanski

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

smanski@umn.edu

Friedrich Srienc

Friedrich Srienc

Friedrich Srienc
Professor
Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

srienc@umn.edu

Michael Travisano

Michael Travisano

Associate Professor
Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior

travisan@umn.edu

Larry Wackett

Larry Wackett

Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

wacke003@umn.edu

Ping Wang

Ping Wang

Professor
Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering

ping@umn.edu

Carrie M. Wilmot

Carrie M. Wilmot

Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

wilmo004@umn.edu